Saab Forums - Saab Enthusiast Forum

Saab Forums - Saab Enthusiast Forum (https://saabforums.com/forum/)
-   Saab 9-3 (https://saabforums.com/forum/saab-9-3-11/)
-   -   2000 Saab 9-3 SE convertible-Need advice (https://saabforums.com/forum/saab-9-3-11/2000-saab-9-3-se-convertible-need-advice-2349/)

mark@ddi 11-17-2009 10:27 AM

2000 Saab 9-3 SE convertible-Need advice

Total newbie here and looking for some help.

I have a young Japanese exchange student living with us that will start college in January. She needs a car to commute from the home to the school. About 10 miles per day in a huge variety of weather conditions.

I found a 2000 Saab 9-3 SE convertible for less than $4,000. Can carry liability only as it will be a cash purchase.

Car has 108,000 miles or so. I am under no illusions on the car as it is coming from a B- lot. Bought from a dealer trade in and available cheap.

Car fax is clean but is spotty on service records.

I always figure a $1,000 in for things that need to be done but in this case I don't know what pitfalls or traps are out there and am looking for just general information as to what cost items I might face.

I get tires and brakes but is there a timing belt, struts or ?????

Help please.

I assume these go in the snow being from Sweden and all?

Thanks

Mark

mark@ddi 11-19-2009 09:25 AM

2000 9-3

Ok I went with my gut and bought the car.

Heater/temp control dial doesn't work.

Inside drivers's door handle does not work.

Radio digital display is all garbled but radio works.

Info display shows the air bag light and the haz warning light continuously on.

Clean carfax so don't believe airbag was ever deployed. Sensors?

110,000 miles and runs smooth. 50% brakes and 50% tires.

Top leaks.

Was traded in to a Volvo dealer, detailed to the max and then sold at auction and I bought from a B- lot in as is for $3500.

Any of these issues sound familiar?

Thanks

trussie0372 12-02-2009 06:15 PM