85 900 turbo weird firing prob???????

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2010, 01:22 PM

Default 85 900 turbo weird firing prob???????

Hey guys,im really new to saabs my father in law just gave my wife 1.To make a long story short we kept breaking down and getting it to run by turning the distributor(i did this because it sounded real outta time).I took apart the distributor and found the lower rotor(not sure if it's wat its called the round metal 4 spaces rotor i guess works as points system)was spining because the key wasnt in the slot..I made a key and the rotor is now in the right position.Ok here comes the puzzling part.The car fires right up but runs like theres a miss so i started pulling plug wires.

So if i pull the num 3 or 4 cylinder wire the car idles right up n runs great but if i put it back on it idles down and runs rough.I can pull either one and it runs fine,if i pull both it runs the same as if both are hoocked up.????????
Its like when they both hooked up it cancles them out as if they are shorting some how.Ive checked for arks/shorting and is none.Im clueless and do not wanna drive on 3 cylinders.Any ideas would help thx.

By the way if i pull either 1 or 2 cylinder wire the car wants to stall those are the only cylinders running the car untill i pull 1 of the other 2 off.

Last edited by bnice66; 03-20-2010 at 01:24 PM.
Old 03-21-2010, 04:45 PM

Are these forums/site dead??????
Old 03-23-2010, 04:44 PM

no its not dead we just have jobs and famlies to deal with.first off you won't be able to adjust timing on a b202 by turning the ditributor that will only wreck your engine. secondly by key do you mean the 2 metal clamps holding the distibutor cap on? the part that turns and delivers the spark or rotor should be glued onto the indexed shaft.it sounds to me you have messed up the timing by moving it take it to a garage asap!
Old 03-30-2010, 02:06 PM