General Auto Related Help Area Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Replacing Belts

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2006, 12:59 AM

Default Replacing Belts

Hello All -

I am new to the world of Saab's My dad turned me on to them and I think they are a wonderful auto. I am intrigued by the design, quality and simplicity. With that being said - I have encountered my first challenge. I want to replace the drive belts and am looking for some advise before get started.

Is there an "easy" way to get after the belt changing project? Working space seems to be limited. My car is a 91 16V non-turbo.

Thanks in advance,
Brad
Old 07-18-2006, 12:48 AM

Default RE: Replacing Belts

Hi Brad, Hello From Scotland

haha, now you're asking a bit of a question!!!

first of all , if your car is a 9000, it IS a painful job, but achievable with gritted teeth , a lot of swearing and a couple of hours to spare!!!

On working space, you will definitely need to remove the appropriate roadwheel and wheel arch trim and Liner (a few nuts and bolts)easy peasy...
this is essential to get enough room to do said job!!!

If you are replacing the belt, i recommend replacing the plastic idler pulley(s) while you are at it!(they are cheap and easy to replace, and are miserably weak!!!!!

(just bare in mind that you should only attempt all of this if you have a suitable workshop manual) Haynes make a semi decent manual, about £15, but much needed for reference.

You may also need a tool for holding the tensioner in place (you may have to make it!)

This is based on my '94 9000 turbo , which has a single drivebelt and tensioner , it may be easier for your car, i will look into it and post my findings....

If you don't have/can't get a manual, i can (try) to run you through it if i have the info....
Old 07-18-2006, 09:56 PM

Default RE: Replacing Belts

HAVE LOOKED INTO OLDER 9000 BELT REPLACEMENT PROCEDURE.