Advice on buying a 2002 Saab 9-3?

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2009, 03:19 PM

Default Advice on buying a 2002 Saab 9-3?

I am new to Saab. I am former Chrysler addict looking to break my addiction. I drive 120 miles a day, all highway. My old 1996 Chrysler LHS land yacht got 30 mpg on the highway on a good day.

I have the potential to get a 2002 Saab 9-3. I am looking for opinions on reliability and such, things to look out for, etc. I know to use synthetic motor oil and hope this one had it regularly. I will hear by Tuesday at the latest how it checks out.

So, tell me why I should switch to Saab. I'm open.

Old 01-10-2009, 11:07 PM

Default RE: Advice on buying a 2002 Saab 9-3?

Several reasons to go SAAB.

1) You will be driving a rather unique car.
2) You can drive it conservatively on your 120 mile trips and get 30-36mpg and still have the ability to pass anything in the blink of an eye.
3) The hatch will hold an amazing amount of stuff.
4) It will be MUCH more fun than the Chrysler ever was.
5) SAAB seats are the most comfortable I have ever ridden on. If you drive 120 miles per day, you will GREATLY appreciate that. I have taken 5-6 hour trips and have actually gotten out of the car feeling refreshed. I know at least one person who turned a SAAB seat into an office chair.
6) There is a tremendous community of SAAB owners that inhabit this and other forums. They are a great asset in appreciating and maintaining your SAAB.

As for reliability, things to look out for, etc.
1) Like ANY car, if you take care of it, it will be very reliable. There are many SAABers around with over 200k miles on their cars.
2) They are quite easy to work on, so if you can DIY even some things, you can save money and have the pride of knowing that you did some of the work yourself.