R&R'ed water pump and everything went to hell!

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2016, 11:54 AM

Default R&R'ed water pump and everything went to hell!

Oh, dear and wise SAAB warriors. I seek your help, as I am thoroughly stumped and dismayed.

Thanks you, in advance, for any time, attention, consideration,and suggestions. I'm a newbie to SAABs,but have loved this car in the year that I've owned it like no other carbefore.

Regards,
Tom

NB: Am posting verbatim inother SAAB forums. Just a fair-useannouncement!

Type: 2002 9-5 Aero, 92,000 miles

History:

• Temp gage NEVER (previously)left the blue at the very bottom.
  • Water pump began aprogressively worsening leak.
  • Temp gage then rocksteady at midpoint all the time now. I’dadd water as needed.
  • Leak got worse (pumpstill fine, no noise). Engine tempspiked two or three times (but very quickly). Car in neutral, popped hood for ventilation, turned on interior heat, coasted,got off road, gage already returning to midpoint. Engine (top of crankcase/valve cover) never felthot to touch. Added water and on my way,suspicious about temp gage (although last temp spike did prompt engine-checklight).
  • Oil started slowlydisappearing. I blamed the broken andloose oil dipstick cap, but some leakage noted from valve cover gasket and onblock. Didn’t seem fresh though.

Repair:

• R&R’ed water pumpwith full kit from SAAB Central. Drainedoil.
  • Never removed intakemanifold
  • Replaced, filled withwater for a leak test. Completed oilchange with new filter. Double-checkedall connections. PCV valve was noted tobe disconnected AND broken (blew both ways). Replaced with new. Replaceddipstick and cap with new.
  • Go to start, and car*very* sluggish to start (a minute of cranking but catching)
  • Runs fine… but like a steamlocomotive! Copious clouds of steam(condensed on hand, no oil smell, on rainbow in pail to collect exhaust) out ofexhaust, never abated. Water evendripping from exhaust. Shut down.