Saab or Volvo

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2007, 09:35 AM

Default Saab or Volvo

Hi,
I'm a newbie here so please bear with me. I'm looking to buy a 2003 9-5 Aero, 57K miles, good condition (appearance wise). Do you know of any known issues that i need to be aware of? I'm also looking at a 2003 Volvo S80 T6 with about the same miles on it. Any opinions on which one would be a better choice? I appreciate any input offered.
Old 03-02-2007, 11:39 AM
Super Moderator

Default RE: Saab or Volvo

at 57K miles there shouldn't really be to many problems if the car was PROPERLY maintained. Make sure you get all the service records and do an oil change and spark plugs as soon as you get it and you ought to be set. As far as the volvo goes...I like saabs better.
Old 03-02-2007, 11:48 AM

Appreciate your input Roto. Maintenance and reliability wise how are the Saabs? Do they take a lot of TLC? Sorry I haven't owned one before nor know of anyone who does, hence the cautiousness and curiosity. Appreciate your help.
Old 03-02-2007, 11:54 AM
Super Moderator

Well take it from the honda freak: saabs do need more upkeep than a civic. With both a Saab and a Volvo the mechanics will try to rip you off because most of them dont service too many of them, but your should still be under warranty. And when it's out of warranty you can always find a good mechanic...just takes a bit of looking around. I'm 100% satisfied with my saab. I will most likely never buy anything than a saab for my car again, but my wife on the other hand is a diehard Honda gal...saabs are much cheaper to fix than audi or volvo though. And I know of some very good places to get OE parts cheaper than the dealer.
Old 03-02-2007, 12:02 PM