General Auto Related Help Area Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

A plead for help

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2009, 07:43 PM

Default A plead for help

Hi, I am a newbie here from New Jersey. I have been working on repairing a saab 98 900 se turbo for the past 4 months and I am still having severe stalling problems. The stalling happens at all levels of fuel (empty to full) when I am coming to a complete stop, or when I put the car into park after driving for short or long distances. Normally when I am at a red light, the engine will run fine as I come to a stop, but then it sputters and the rpms jump to around 1300, and then back down to around 500 to 700, stays at 1000 for a few seconds and then sputters again. This evenutally leads to a stalling about 1/3 of the time.

The stalling has caused me to clean our the IAC 3 times, but that doesn't work.
At the suggestion of a saab mechanic, I had to replace the APC Solenoid for ($300 and labor), which he said solved the problem but 1 mile from the repair shop, the car stalled again. I plan to bring it back to him on Monday, but I am not ready to throw another $500 at the problem for something that probably was not related to the stalling. Changing the solenoid has actually made the car drive smoother, the turbo doesn't buck anymore, but isn't quite as strong as it used to be.

Another mecanic told me it was the Oxygen sensor, but that didn't change anything.

I've checked all the tubes, which seem to be fine. I have also had the throttle cleaned out fully. I've changed the air filter, fuel filter, but those didn't make much difference.

Any suggestions on other things I can look at? I am getting to the point where the car is becoming my worst nightmare, instead of my happy ride.

Thanks!!!